How to Permanently Delete an Apple ID Account

For Mac How-To

Apple account is our one-stop hub for managing devices, downloading apps, registering new Apple products, accessing iCloud and Apple Music, or be it anything. Before you install any app on your Apple device, it prompts you to fill in your Apple ID and password to authenticate your account details (Every time). If you’re using any of the Apple devices, be it an iPhone, iPad, or Mac, Apple ID is required to store your account information and to manage data across devices.

How to Permanently Delete an Apple ID Account
Image source: Apple Support

But if you’ve finally decided to part ways from Apple, this post covers a step by step guide to learn how to permanently delete an Apple ID account and remove all your information securely from the servers.

Before we proceed, here’s a little piece of information. Once you delete your Apple ID account permanently, there’s no way back that Apple can provide you any previous information anytime in the future. Apple’s data and privacy policy strictly mention that you won’t be able to access any of your data after deleting your account permanently. Apple cannot re-activate or restore any of the data associated with your account once you delete your Apple ID. To know more, visit this link.

Although, if you’ve finally made up your mind to bid goodbye to Apple, let’s learn how to delete an Apple ID account.

Also read: How to Change Email ID Associated With Apple ID

How to Permanently Delete an Apple ID Account

Follow these steps to permanently delete an Apple ID account and remove all your account information from the Apple servers.

On your PC or Mac, launch any web browser and navigate to this link: https://privacy.apple.com/ and sign in to your Apple ID account.

How to Permanently Delete an Apple ID Account

Apple may also prompt you to answer a few security questions to authenticate your identity. Answer the questions accurately to proceed and sign in to your Apple account.

On the Apple ID and Privacy page, read the terms and tap on the “Continue” button.

How to Permanently Delete an Apple ID AccountLocate the “Delete your Account” section and tap the “Get Started” button to delete your Apple account.

Locate the “Delete your Account”

On the next window, Apple offers you a choice where you can opt for temporary deactivation if you wish to access any of your account details in the future. But if that’s not the case, and you still want to permanently delete an Apple ID account.

Locate the “Delete your Account”

Pick a reason from the drop-down menu why you wish to delete your account and then hit the “Continue” button.

Apple will present a list of things that will be permanently deleted from the servers. Review all this information thoroughly and then press “Continue”.

Apple will present

On the next window, Apple will display the terms and conditions for deleting your Apple ID account permanently. Review everything carefully and if you agree with each and everything mentioned in the policies, check on “I have read and agree to these terms and conditions” and hit the “Continue” button to confirm.

On the next windowTo receive the account status updates whether it has been successfully deleted or not, pick an option from the list. You can either choose a phone number or an alternative email address.

On the next window

 

Apple will now provide you a unique access code. Keep it safe and store this information for your records. You can even print, copy, or simply note it down on a piece of paper.

unique access code

On the next window, enter your unique access code and tap on “Continue” to proceed.

enter your unique access code

Once again, Apple makes you aware what all information will be removed once you permanently delete an Apple ID account. If you’re sure, tap the “Delete your Account” button.

Delete your Account

And it’s done! Apple will now get to work and start processing your delete request. The entire process usually takes up less than 7 days for completion. So, just sit back and relax until Apple notifies you that your account is deleted.

Apple notifies you that your account is deleted

Also, make sure you sign out of your Apple account from the web browser before you shut down your machine.

To Remember…

Before you decided on finally deleting your Apple ID account permanently, make sure you have backed up all your data and account details safely. Once your account is permanently deleted from the Apple servers, then the support team will not be able to restore your account under any circumstance.

Also read: How to Reset Your Apple ID Password

So fellas here was a detailed guide on how to delete an Apple ID account. We hope this post proves out to be helpful for you. If you need assistance at any step, feel free to reach out. You can use the below-mentioned comments space to fill in your query.

What Do You Think?
Responses

Leave a Reply


The Firefox logo isn’t a fox

It is a common misbelief that the furry creature in the Firefox logo is a fox thanks to its name. But it is rather a Red Panda.

Buy Now