“The advance of technology is based on making it fit in so that you don’t even notice it, so it’s part of everyday life.” ~ Bill Gates.
Technology has become a crucial part of our everyday lifestyle, from checking our email accounts to scrolling through our social media feeds. Isn’t it?
Well, regarding email accounts, Yahoo is one of the oldest yet most popular email services, launched in 1997. In the early Internet era, Yahoo provided various services apart from email, including Yahoo Messenger, a web portal, Yahoo search, Yahoo Sports, Yahoo News, Yahoo Finance, and more. But over time, new email services slipped in and dominated Yahoo, especially Gmail. So, yes, we’re sure you are barely using your Yahoo account. Right? So, if you have stopped using your Yahoo account, deleting it permanently can help you stay safe online.
Wondering how to delete your Yahoo account permanently? Closing an old email account is a tedious task. And this is why we are here to help. In this post, we have listed a step-by-step guide on how to delete Yahoo account permanently.
Let’s get started.
How to Delete Yahoo Email Account Permanently
Before we begin, here’s something you should know! Once you permanently delete your Yahoo account, you will also lose Yahoo settings, photos, Yahoo Messenger, Flickr, and other related account data. So, download all the data that you might need in the future before you delete your Yahoo Mail account.
Follow these quick steps to delete your Yahoo account permanently.
Step 1: Launch any web browser and visit this link. Sign in to your Yahoo mail account to get started. You will now be redirected to the “My Subscriptions” section. Check for active subscriptions linked to your account and cancel them immediately.
Step 2: Head to Yahoo account Termination Page after canceling your active subscriptions. Enter your email ID and password to log in to your account.
Step 3: Tap on the “Continue to Delete My Account” option.
Step 4: Yahoo will now pop up a confirmation alert “Are you sure you want to terminate your Yahoo account.” Enter your email address and tap on the “Yes, terminate this account” button.
Step 5: And that’s it! Your Yahoo Mail account will be immediately deactivated and scheduled to be deleted in the next 30 days. So, if you change your mind during this duration, you can still re-activate your Yahoo account. To recover your Yahoo account, you must sign in to your account with your username and password and regain access to your emails.
Once you delete your Yahoo account, you will no longer have access to emails, calendars, investment portfolios, Yahoo Messenger, Flickr, etc.
Also read: How to Configure Yahoo Mail on Outlook?
Why Should You Delete Your Yahoo Account?
When it comes to online security, Yahoo has a poor track record. It has been a part of the news regarding various security breaches and data exposure scandals. Here are a few reasons that you can consider:
- Yahoo sells your search history to third parties and scans your email messages to offer you more personalized email advertisements.
- From 2013 to 2014, Yahoo breached more than 1 billion email accounts.
- Yahoo was also linked in a forging browser cookies scandal in 2015.
So, here’s why you should delete your Yahoo account permanently if you are no longer using it. Once you delete your account, all the emails sent to your address will bounce back to the sender with a “Delivery Failure” message.
Bonus Tip – If you are worried about your privacy online, we suggest you use a good VPN service such as NordVPN. It helps you stay anonymous when surfing online and prevents the hazards of identity theft and more. NordVPN is the best security option online as it comes with features such as adblocker, anti-tracking, and malware detection. It is available for Windows, Mac, Android, iOS, and Linux and allows you to secure up to 6 devices using one NordVPN account. It has over 5500 servers across the globe in 58 countries and provides a fast connection speed.
Here was a step-by-step guide on how to delete Yahoo account permanently. In the ’90s, Yahoo was quite popular on the web; it was the Internet. Since Google’s arrival, Yahoo has been overshadowed and slowly lost its charm. Yahoo failed to adapt to new security policies and became a part of various data breaches. So, if you are no longer using your Yahoo mail account, you can follow our guide to delete your Yahoo account permanently.