WhatsApp Update Introduces New Features for Voice Messages

Tech News

 

WhatsApp announced a new update that will allow users to play and check their recorded voice messages before sending them. Until now, the only way to listen to your voice message was after sending it. With this new feature, users can check for background noise that might have been recorded accidentally before sending it.

Voice message
Image: Google

This comes as a surprise as WhatsApp recently rolled out a major update related to voice messages which allowed users to choose the playback speed between Normal, 1.5x, and 2x speeds. The update was rolled on all WhatsApp platforms namely Android, iOS, and the Web/Desktop version.

voice messages
Image: Android Police

Currently, users are not able to edit their recorded voice messages but only delete or share them. The WABetaInfo has reported about the new features in the works and assures that it will be rolled out soon and enable users to review their recorded voice messages before sharing them with their contacts. This feature will first arrive in the beta apps first and then later follow to the commercial version.

Once a message is recorded, users will get a Play button and a trash button along with the usual send button which can be used to play the recently recorded message and then either trash it or send it to your intended contact. Users will also get a stop button while recording the message and allow them to choose to either continue recording or send the message.

Whatsapp
Image: Google

Besides these two voice message features, it has been recently announced by Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg that more features will be introduced in WhatsApp.

  • View Once: Once this feature is enabled, the content will disappear after they have been viewed once.
  • Multi-Device Support: Any WhatsApp account can soon be logged in on four devices simultaneously which will help users use WhatsApp from anywhere.
  • Disappearing Mode: The final feature when turned on will make all the preselected chats disappear as they never existed.

Introducing new and useful features has always been a great strategy by applications to retain their customers and maintain competition. It seems WhatsApp is following the same strategy to retain its users, some of whom seem to have shifted to Telegram or Signal after the WhatsApp policy updates which introduced sharing of user information among all Facebook products.

What Do You Think?
Responses

Leave a Reply


The Firefox logo isn’t a fox

It is a common misbelief that the furry creature in the Firefox logo is a fox thanks to its name. But it is rather a Red Panda.